Cloud Configurations

Last modified
<< PrevNext >>

The Cloud Configurations page is located under Configure → Cloud → Cloud Configurations.

 

 

This page allows the user to define the properties for cloud configurations that will be used by the appliance for storing data in the cloud.

 

The tabular list on this page shows all of the cloud configurations that have been defined, the primary and backup credentials associated with the cloud configurations, whether or not the configurations are in use by volumes and whether or not AES data-at-rest encryption has been enabled for the cloud configurations. The appliance supports a maximum of 64 cloud configurations.

This page discusses the following topics related to 'Cloud Configurations' -

UpArrow.png

Creating Cloud Configuration

To create a cloud configuration, click the ‘Create cloud configuration’ icon at the bottom of the cloud configurations list view.  The cloud configuration properties page will appear as shown below. Under the 'General' tab, the user can specify:

 

 

  • Name - First, provide a name for your cloud configuration in the text box next to ‘Name’.  This name is used only for description purposes and should be unique. 
  • Primary Cloud Credential - Select the cloud credential to use for storing data for this volume when its data is tiered to the cloud. These credentials will also be used for any Cloud Snapshots that are taken for this volume.
  • Backup Cloud Credential - This functionality is deprecated and we recommend that you sepcify the 'Use Primary' option.
  • QoS Template - Choose a QoS profile that should be associated with this cloud configuration to enforce bandwidth controls at specific times of the day. If you leave it as it is, a 'Default' QoS will be associated with this cloud configuration. Refer to QoS Templates in the System Settings page for the details of the 'Default' template.
  • Enable Monitoring – This box is checked by default for every cloud configuration that is created. Checking this option configures the appliance to record detailed statistics allowing you to filter reporting charts to this specific cloud configuration.  If you uncheck this box, statistics from this cloud configuration will be summarized in the global statistics, but you will not be able to filter reporting charts down to this specific cloud configuration. 

 

 

Under the 'Security' tab, the user can specify -

 

CloudConfigurations5.png

 

  • Data-at-Rest Encryption (AES) - By default, this option is checked. This allows the appliance to encrypt data prior to storage on the cloud storage service.
  • Data-at-Rest (AES) Encryption Key - Supply the key to be used when encrypting data that is written to this cloud storage account.  If you supply a 32 character long passphrase, the appliance will generate an encryption key from this passphrase. Encryption keys cannot be changed once applied.  If you do not wish to use encryption, uncheck the checkbox next to ‘Data-at-Rest Encryption (AES)’.

 

Access the 'General' tab and then click the ‘Save’ button to save the cloud configuration. 

 

 image009.jpg Note: You can enable monitoring on up to a maximum of 30 objects, where an object can be a cloud configuration or a volume. Encryption keys or passphrases can be up to 32 characters in length.


UpArrow.png

Editing Cloud Configuration

To edit a cloud configuration, click the ‘Edit’ icon  to the left of the cloud configuration name to open the cloud configuration properties page. 

 

CloudConfigurationEdit1.png

 

Note that a third tab, 'Advanced' is available when you are editing a cloud configuration.

 

CloudConfigurationEdit2.png

 

The 'Advanced' tab displays the primary and the backup cloud capacity used. 

If you make any changes in cloud configuration, be sure to click ‘Save’ to save those changes. The following items cannot be changed once a cloud configuration is created:

  • Primary Cloud Credential
  • Backup Cloud Credential
  • Data-at-Rest (AES) Encryption Key

UpArrow.png

Deleting Cloud Configuration

To delete a cloud configuration, first look in the tabular list of cloud configurations to see if it is in use by any of the volumes.  Notice the presence or lack of the check icon Green_Check_20X18.png in the following diagram.

CloudConfigurations6.png

 

If the checkmark is present, it means that a cloud configuration is used by volumes on the system, and thus cannot be deleted.  If the checkmark is not present, it means that a cloud configuration is not being used by any system volumes and can be deleted. 

When attempting to delete a cloud configuration, if the cloud configuration is in use, your appliance will notify you in a pop-up that the cloud configuration cannot be deleted. If you still wish to delete the cloud configuration, first delete any volumes associated with that cloud configuration. 

If the cloud configuration is not in use, your appliance will prompt you for confirmation that you wish to delete the cloud configuration. At that point, you can proceed with the deletion or cancel the operation.

UpArrow.png

<< PrevNext >>

Related

Page statistics
3834 view(s) and 21 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments