Volume Groups

Last modified
<< PrevNext >>

This section explains the 'Volume Groups' page and all the related operations such as creating, editing and deleting a volume group. Volume Groups are groups of volumes that you associate with each other to form the basis of a backup or restore job.  For example, you could combine all of your Exchange volumes into a single volume group in a scenario where you would like to take a backup of or restore the entire Exchange application and not just its individual volumes.

The ‘Volume Groups’ page lists all volume groups and volumes associated with each.  The volume groups listed also include those that have been imported from the DPC UI. The imported groups can be easily distinguished by the descriptor attached in parentheses after the volume group name. This page also provides the option to create a backup for a specific volume group as well as create, edit or delete a volume group.

VolumeGroups1.png

 

This page discusses the following common tasks associated with 'Volume Groups' -

Back to Top

Creating a Volume Group

 To create a new group, click the ‘Create Volume Group’ icon at the bottom of the volume groups’ list view. The ‘Create Volume Group’ dialog has two tabs – ‘General’ and ‘Volumes’.
 

 VolumeGroups2.png

 

In the ‘General’ tab, type in the name you wish to assign to the new volume group.  Under the ‘Volumes’ tab, you can choose the volumes to associate with the newly created volume group.

 

VolumeGroups3.png

 

The dropdown lists all the volumes configured on your system that have not been already added to this volume group.

 

VolumeGroups4.png

 

Choose the volume that you wish to add to the new volume you just created and click ‘Add’.  Repeat the process to add subsequent volumes to a group. After each addition, the view is updated with all the volumes in the group that you are currently editing.  Along with the Volume Alias, the cloud configuration and Size of each volume is listed. 

 

VolumeGroups5.png

 

To remove any volume from its group, simply click the ‘delete’ icon delete_icon_20X16.png next to it. Once you have added the volumes to this group to your satisfaction, click ‘Save’ to save the changes.  The new volume group created is then displayed on the ‘Volume Groups’ page. 

 

VolumeGroups6.png

 

Back to Top

Editing a Volume Group

 Click on the pencil icon Edit_Pencil_20X19.png to edit this volume group. Continue editing by changing the fields under the ‘General’ and ‘Volumes’ tab. Click ‘Save’ when done.
 

VolumeGroups7.png

Back to Top

Deleting a Volume Group

 From the ‘Volume Groups’ page, click the delete icon delete_icon_20X16.png next to any volume group to delete it. A confirmation dialog will be displayed to the user.

 

VolumeGroups8.png

 

Click on OK to proceed with the operation. The user will be notified that all of the deleted group’s backup runs and policies have been deleted with a banner message appearing at the top of the page.

VolumeGroups9.png

 

Back to Top

Taking a Backup for a volume group

 To create a backup for a volume group, access the ‘Volume Groups’ page and click on ‘Take Backup’ icon displayed on the rightmost column of the volume group list view.

VolumeGroups10.png

 

This will present the following dialog.

 

VolumeGroups11.png

 

Specify which backup operation - Snapshot, Cloud snapshot or Cloud Clone - you would like to perform. Choose Accept to proceed or Cancel to exit out of this dialog. If you Accept, you will be returned to the Volume Groups screen with a message to the effect that an interactive backup for the volume groups has started.

 

VolumeGroups12.png

 

Please see the details of how to access ‘Completed Jobs’ under Manage > Data Protection > Jobs section.

Back to Top

<< PrevNext >>
Page statistics
1250 view(s) and 31 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no custom tags.
This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments