Backup Copies

Last modified
<< PrevNext >>

The primary function of StorSimple Data Protection is to allow the user to take a backup of StorSimple volumes in the form of Snapshots, Cloud Snapshots, or Cloud Clones. 

 

BackupCopies1.png

 

A left click on the ‘Snapshots, Cloud Clones and Cloud Snapshots’ item in the Scope Pane displays the Volume Groups for which backup copies exist, and the number of snapshots, Cloud Clones, and Cloud Snapshots for each. If backups are available for a specific volume group, clicking the  icon next to the volume group will expand to show three sub-folders: Snapshots, Cloud Clones, and Cloud Snapshots. Further expansion shows the backups of each type as shown below. Note that in this case, the Backup Copies associated with volume groups imported from the Web UI are visible.

 

BackupCopies2.png

 

Selecting a specific backup in the Scope Pane will display the following columns in the Result Pane:

 

BackupCopies3.png

  • Name – the date and time of the creation of the backup.
  • Type – the type of backup, whether it is a Snapshot, Cloud Snapshot, or Cloud Clone.
  • Owner – refers to the policy that resulted in the backup.
  • Available – indicates if the associated volume(s) are available on the appliance from which they were imported  
  • Deleted – indicates if the backup has been deleted from the Web UI. Typically, deleted backups should be filtered from the MMC UI and this field should never be true.
  • Imported – when set to true it refers to whether the backup was imported when the appliance was configured.  After the import operation, the backups can also be created by executing the policies created via the MMC UI and this field would be set to false.

 

The following topics detail the common tasks associated with the 'Backup Copies' node such as -

Back to Top

Restoring a Backup

A right-click on a backup results in displaying the context menu containing the permitted actions for the backup, which are also displayed in the right Actions pane.

 

BackupCopies5.png

 

The 'Restore' option in the context menu allows you to restore a StorSimple backup, which will restore all associated volumes back to that exact point in time.  A confirmation dialog box is displayed, requiring you to confirm that you wish to restore the selected backup. 

 

BackupCopies6.png

 

Typing CONFIRM restores the volumes back to the point in time when the backup was taken. Restore operations are displayed in the list of running jobs and will be transferred to the completed job list once it is done.

 

Note.png Note: Use the ‘restore’ function to restore an entire backup copy.

 

Note.png Note: Any new data, written after the Restore is executed will be overwritten with the data from the restored Backup

Back to Top

Deleting a Backup

Deleting a backup associated with the volume group will remove it from the list of existing backups and it will no longer be accessible.

 

Note.png Note: Deleting a backup deletes the data associated with the backup. The process of cleaning up data from the cloud may take some time.

 

Selecting a particular volume from the backup volume list displays a context menu that will allow you to refresh the contents. This operation is displayed in the right Actions Pane as well.

Back to Top

Cloning a volume

You may want to clone an individual volume using a backup run of an entire volume group. Perform the following steps to clone a volume.

  • Start the cloning process by filtering the specific backup on the ‘Backup Copies’ page.

BackupCopies7.png

  • Locate the specific volume in the volume group that you wish to clone and invoke the context menu via a right-click.
  • Select ‘Clone’ and initiate the process.

 

BackupCopies8.png

 

  • Assign a name to the cloned volume. This is the name the clone will be assigned when it shows up in the Web UI. In the MMC UI, the clone will have the same name as original volume being cloned.
  • You can also assign the cloned volume a drive letter by selecting the option ‘Assign the following drive letter’ and choosing a letter from the dropdown field.
  • Alternatively, you can specify a path for mounted volume by selecting the option ‘Mount in the following empty NTFS folder’.
  • You can then click on ‘Browse’ and point to the desired location.
  • Finally, choose Accept to proceed or Cancel the operation.
  • Once the cloning operation is complete, the cloned volume needs to be initialized by launching Server Manager and accessing Storage/Disk Management. Once initialized, the volume will then be seen in the existing list of volumes.

 

BackupCopies9.png

  • Refresh the list of volumes if you do not see the cloned volume.

This clone is now a regular volume and any operation that is possible on a volume will be available for the clone. The cloning operation will be available for backups created via the MMC UI as well as the imported backups.

Back to Top

<< PrevNext >>

Related

Page statistics
444 view(s) and 4 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no custom tags.
This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments