Jobs

Last modified

Under the ‘Jobs’ option, a user can view the status of jobs that have been scheduled, are currently running or have been completed. These jobs were created under the ‘Data Protection’ option in the ‘Configure’ drawer.

 

Appliance_WebUI_78.png

 

A Job can be defined and started in two primary ways:

 

  • Interactively- When you access the ‘Take backup’ icon located on the Volume Group page under ‘Configure’, it starts the Job immediately. See details of how to schedule an interactive backup in Configure  Data Protection Volume Groups.
  • Scheduled- When you take one or more of Snapshot, Cloud Snapshot and Cloud Clone based on a schedule defined through a Data Protection policy, the Job is started as per the policy attached. See Configure Data Protection Policies for details on how to create a policy.

 

The Jobs page displays three tabs in this view: ‘Scheduled Jobs’, ‘Running Jobs’ and ‘Completed Jobs’.  ‘Scheduled Jobs’ lists jobs scheduled to run in the future, ‘Running Jobs’ enumerates those currently in progress and ‘Completed Jobs’ lists the ones that have completed. Both types of jobs, scheduled and interactive are listed in these views.

This section displays the following tasks associated with 'Jobs' page -

Back to Top

 Scheduled Jobs

 

The ‘Scheduled Jobs’ tab lists all the jobs that are scheduled to start in the future. For each scheduled job, you will see the following columns.

 

Appliance_WebUI_79.png

 

 

  • Description – describes the type of backup, whether Snapshot, Cloud Snapshot or Cloud Clone, along with the associated Volume group and the attached Policy.
  • Next Runtime –indicates the start date and time for the next run of the Policy

Once the jobs become current they automatically move from this list to the Running Jobs List.

 

Note: The next scheduled job is displayed only if the current job has completed its run. If the current run is not complete, the new scheduled run is not displayed under the scheduled jobs.

Back to Top

Running Jobs

 

The ‘Running Jobs’ tab lists all the jobs that are currently in progress. For each job, you will see the following columns.

 

Appliance_WebUI_80.png

 

  • Description – the name of the job that is currently running, including the associated volume group and the policy.
  • Started – the time when the job started.
  • Checkpoint – the last completed step in the job.  The list of checkpoints can include:
    • Checkpoints seen while starting a job:
      • Starting
    • Checkpoints seen while creating a backup:
      • Creating shadow copies
      • Finalizing Snapshot
      • Finalizing Cloud Snapshot
      • Finalizing Cloud Clone
    • Checkpoints seen while restoring a backup:
      • Cloning Snapshot
      • Cloning Cloud Snapshot
      • Cloning Cloud Clone
      • Restoring Snapshot
      • Restoring Cloud Snapshot
      • Restoring Cloud Clone
  • Status –percentage of job complete.
  • Elapsed – the amount of time that has elapsed since the job began.

           

Upon completion, the jobs from this list are moved to the ‘Completed Jobs’ list.

Back to Top

Completed Jobs

 

The ‘Completed Jobs’ tab shows a list view of all the completed jobs. For each job, you can see the following columns.

 

Appliance_WebUI_81.png

 

  • Started – indicates the time when the job began.
  • Stopped – indicates when the job ended.
  • Elapsed –amount of time taken for completing the job.
  • Details –include information on failures, if any. If a job failed, the details can be viewed by hovering over the magnifying glass iconand a pop-up will display a detailed error message.

 

Appliance_WebUI_82.png

 

Note: The ‘Completed Jobs’ list displays only the last successful completed run for a specific backup type. To see all the completed backup runs of each backup type, the user needs to access the ‘Backups’ page.

Back to Top

Refreshing, Deleting and Exporting Jobs

 

For all the jobs lists, namely, scheduled, running and completed, the user has options to refresh the list, delete one or more list entries and export the list.  To refresh any of the lists, simply click the refresh icon .

A specific job can be deleted from a list by clicking the delete icon  located next to the corresponding job.  This is useful when the user wishes to clear jobs from the list and export the list for further parsing.

The list view can also be exported to a csv file by accessing the  icon. This csv file has additional fields than the ones displayed in the list view. The exported file can then be saved or opened by a spreadsheet application such as MS Excel for detailed parsing.

Back to Top

Page statistics
384 view(s) and 4 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no custom tags.
This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments