Volume Groups

Last modified

Volume Groups Node

Volume Groups or consistency groups are groups of volumes that you associate with each other to form the basis of a backup or restore job. For example, you could combine all of your Exchange volumes into a single volume group in a scenario where you would like to take a backup of or restore the entire Exchange application and not just its individual volumes.

 

A left click on the volume group node, will enumerate all the existing volume groups in the result pane and details of each including the number of assigned applications and number of volumes per volume group as shown below.

 

VolumeGroups1.png

 

The Action Pane will display the option to create a new Volume Group.

The following sections explain the common tasks associated with 'Volume Groups' node -

Back to Top

Creating a Volume Group

You can create a new volume group by clicking on 'Create Volume Group' in the action pane or you can also display this option by right clicking on the Volume Groups node.

 

VolumeGroups2.png

 

A Volume Group pop-up window is displayed with:

 

  • Name – you will need to assign a unique name to the new Volume Group.

 

  • Applications – lists all the supported VSS writers currently installed and running on the host. Currently, StorSimple Data Protection MMC Snap-in supports the SQL Server and Microsoft Exchange VSS writers.  Choose the writer associated with the application that is using the volumes you are intending to select.

 

 Note: A specific writer will be enabled if and only if all the volumes that the writer is aware of are StorSimple appliance volumes. If you select this writer all volumes associated with it will automatically be selected. The opposite holds true as well; that is, when you select volumes associated with a specific writer, the writer is auto selected in the applications column.

 

 Note: The user may not see any entry under applications.  To see an entry, you must have one installed (i.e. Exchange or SQL Server).  Once an application has been installed, you should then see it in the dialog.

The user would be allowed to select an application only if the application is actually utilizing one of the StorSimple volumes for its own purposes.

 

  • Volumes -You can choose any of the StorSimple Volumes to be part of a volume group.

 

Click on Accept button to save the newly created volume group or Cancel the operation.  Once saved, the Volume Group will be displayed in the list of existing Volume Groups.

 

VolumeGroups3.png

 

A right-click on any volume group enlisted in the result pane will display a context menu with the following actions:

 

VolumeGroups4.png

 

Each of the options displayed in the context menu is discussed in detail in the following section.

Back to Top

Take Backup

Selecting this action allows you to start a backup interactively. A pop-up dialogue will give you an option to choose between starting a Snapshot, Cloud Snapshot or a Cloud Clone.

 

VolumeGroups5.png

 

Choose the type of backup operation you’d like to perform, and click Accept to immediately start the backup operation. Clicking Cancel will ignore the operation.  Backup jobs that are started interactively will appear in Jobs > Running for the duration of the operation.

Back to Top

Creating a Policy

This option allows the user to create a policy. See this document under ‘Policies’ for details on how to create a policy. 

Back to Top

Editing a Volume Group

In order to edit a Volume Group, select the desired volume group and choose the Edit option from the action pane or the context-menu. This will allow you to make changes to the volume group such as adding or removing volumes, changing the volume group name, and changing the associated application writer. Once edited, the Volume Group will exhibit the changes made.

Back to Top

Deleting a Volume Group

You can delete a volume group that does not have a policy assigned to it by selecting 'Delete’ from the context menu or the action pane.

 

 Note: Right clicking a Volume Group that has a Data Protection Policy assigned to it will present a context menu with the 'Delete' option missing. In order to see the option to delete this Volume Group, you will need to first delete the policy assigned to it and then right-click on the Volume Group to see the Delete action in the context menu.

 

On selecting the delete action you will be presented with the following confirmation dialogue box:

 

VolumeGroups6.png

    

 Note: Deleting a Volume Group will result in deleting all the Snapshots and Cloud Clones associated with it. A Volume Group will NOT be deleted if it has any of its associated Snapshots, Cloud Snapshots, or Cloud Clones mounted. You will first need to unmount the mounted Snapshots, Cloud Snapshots, and Cloud Clones, and then retry the delete operation.

 

 Note: When deleting an imported Volume Group or associated Backup Set or Run, it will also be deleted in any other MMC UI that is managing it.

       Back to Top

Related

Page statistics
397 view(s) and 3 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no custom tags.
This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments