Volumes

Last modified

The ‘Volumes’ page allows you to manage the storage volumes that are provisioned on the appliance for your initiators (servers).  The volumes page is shown below.

 

Management_GUI_23.png

 

A volume consists of a series of attributes:

 

  • Name – a descriptive name that must be unique, which will help you identify the volume more easily.  This name is also used in reports when filtering on a specific volume
     
  • Type – specifies how the volume is going to be used and by which application, providing a helpful reminder when looking at the volume list
     
  • Capacity – specifies how large the volume is going to be, as perceived by the initiator (server).  Capacity specifies the total amount of data that can be stored by the initiator (server).  Volumes are thinly provisioned, and data is de-duplicated, meaning your appliance doesn’t pre-allocate physical storage capacity internally or on the cloud according to configured volume capacity, rather, capacity is allocated and consumed on demand
     
  • Access Type – specifies whether or not initiators (servers) that are allowed to access the volume can only read data from the volume, or if they are able to perform both read and write operations
     
  • Online – specifies whether or not the volume is visible to initiators (servers) that are allowed access to utilize the volume
     
  • Enable Monitoring – with this setting enabled, your appliance will collect statistics specific to this volume, allowing you to filter volume-related reports down to this individual volume.  Only 30 objects can be configured for ‘enabled monitoring’, including both volumes and cloud accounts.  Should you exceed this number, your appliance will not allow you to enable monitoring on another object until it is disabled on one where it is already configured
     
  • Cloud Account – specifies the cloud storage service provider that should be used for this volume
     
  • Volume Access Groups – specifies the initiators (servers) that are allowed access to this volume.  Initiators that are not members of a volume access group that is associated with the volume will not see the volume

 

This page discusses the following tasks associated with Volumes:

Back to Top

Creating a Volume

To create a volume, click the ‘Create Volume’ link found at the bottom of the tabular list view.  This will open the volume properties page, where you can supply the volume parameters as described above.  The volume properties page is shown below.

 

Management_GUI_24.png

 

On this page, specify the general parameters of the volume.  The description of each of these parameters is provided above.  Note that the capacity of the volume must be between 1 and 2047GB, and that a cloud account must be selected.  All of the parameters on this page are required.  When you have finished specifying general settings, click the ‘Security’ tab to assign volume access groups, as shown below.

 

Management_GUI_25.png

 

Adding a volume access group to the volume properties will explicitly allow any initiator (server) that matches the volume access group configuration to have access to this volume.  If you do not add a volume access group to the properties of a volume, no initiators will have access to the volume.

 

To add a volume access group, click the ‘Add New Record’ link at the bottom of the tabular list view of volume access groups.  The display will change into editing mode, as shown below.

 

Management_GUI_26.png

 

Choose the volume access group you wish to assign to this volume from the drop-down list in the ‘Volume Access Group’ column.  If you do not have a volume access group configured, please visit the Configure > Security Settings > Volume Access Groups page to do so.  Once you have selected your volume access group, choose a ‘Preferred LUN’ or leave it set to ‘No Preference’.  This setting is helpful when you wish to have your appliance try to provide this volume to the initiators in the volume access group using a specific Logical Unit Number (LUN).  If this LUN is unavailable, your appliance will use a different number.  However, if this LUN is available, your appliance will use the configured value.

 

To save the volume access group entry, click the green checkmark  within the row that you are editing.  When you have finished adding volume access groups, click ‘Save’ to save the volume.

 

Note

Clicking ‘Save’ will only save changes in rows where you have clicked the green checkmark.  Be sure to click the green checkmark to save the row changes or the red X to discard row changes prior to clicking ‘Save’.

Back to Top

Editing a Volume

To edit a volume that has already been configured, click the ‘Edit’ icon found on the left side of the tabular list on the same row as the volume you wish to edit.  The icon appears as a pencil , and clicking this icon will display the volume properties pages as shown above.  All volume properties are able to be changed, aside from the cloud account associated with the volume.  Should you wish to move the data from one cloud account to another, you will need to create a separate volume, and use RAID-1 on the initiator between the two volumes, or another data migration tool.

 

Click the ‘Save’ button when you have finished making any changes you wish to make, or ‘Cancel’ to discard the changes.

Back to Top

Deleting a Volume

Volumes can be deleted only if they are taken offline.  To take a volume offline, edit the volume properties and uncheck the box next to “Online”, and click ‘Save’.  Then, in the volume list view, click the red X icon  on the left side of the row containing the volume you wish to delete.  Your appliance will prompt you for confirmation, requiring you to type in the word ‘CONFIRM’. 

 

Management_GUI_27.png

 

Deleting a volume destroys its data.  Use this operation only when you either no longer need the data or when you have an independent copy of the data elsewhere.

 

Note

When you delete a volume, it may take some time for the capacity consumed by that volume on your appliance and on the cloud to be freed.  You may notice that capacity consumption charts do not immediately reflect the capacity becoming available after deleting a volume.

Back to Top

Related

Page statistics
544 view(s) and 7 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no custom tags.
This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments