Snapshots, Cloud Clones and Cloud Snaps

Last modified

The primary function of StorSimple Data Protection is to allow the user to take a backup of StorSimple volumes in the form of Snapshots, Cloud Snaps, or Cloud Clones.  Please refer to the ‘Overview’ section above for a description of each and their differences.

 

MMC23.png

 

A left click on the ‘Snapshots, Cloud Clones and Cloud Snaps’ item in the Scope Pane displays the Volume Groups for which backup copies exist, and the number of snapshots, Cloud Clones, and Cloud Snaps for each.  If backups are available for a specific volume group, clicking the  icon next to the volume group will expand to show three subfolders: Snapshots, Cloud Clones, and Cloud Snaps.  Further expansion shows the backups of each type as shown below.

 

MMC24.png

 

Selecting a specific backup in the scope pane will display the following columns in the Result Pane:

 

  • Name – the name of the backed up volume, represented by a drive letter

 

  • Type – the type of backup, that is a Snapshot, Cloud Snap, or Cloud Clone

 

  • Created On – the date the backup was created

 

  • Mount Point – the mount point indicated by the drive letter of where the backup is currently mounted (if it is mounted)

 

  • Mounted Read Only – whether the backup is mounted as read-only or with both read and write privileges

 

  • Owner – refers to the volume group for which the backup was taken

 

MMC25.png

 

A right click on a backup results in displaying the context menu containing the permitted actions for the backup, which are also displayed in the right action pane.

 

MMC26.png

 

This page discusses the following tasks associated with taking Snapshots, Cloud Clones and Cloud Clones:

Back to Top

Restore

This action allows you to restore a StorSimple backup, which will restore all associated volumes back to that exact point in time.  A confirmation dialogue box is displayed, requiring you to confirm that you wish to restore the selected backup.  Selecting Yes restores the volumes back to the point in time when the backup was taken.  Restore operations are displayed in the list of running jobs and will be transferred to the completed job list once it is done.

 

Note

Any new data, written after the Restore is executed will be overwritten with the data from the restored Backup.

 

Note

Use the ‘restore’ function to restore an entire backup copy.  If you need to perform a granular restore, see the ‘Mount’ function below.

Back to Top

Delete

Deleting a backup associated with the volume group will remove it from the list of existing backups and it will no longer be accessible.

 

Note

If you mount a backup, it cannot be deleted. In order to delete it, you will need to unmount it first and then retry the delete operation.

 

Note

Deleting a backup deletes the data associated with the backup.  The process of cleaning up data from the cloud may take some time.

 

 

Selecting a particular volume from the backup volume list displays a context menu of allowed operations such as mount/unmount, clone, disassociate and refresh. The same operations are displayed in the right actions pane as well

 

MMC27.jpg

 

MMC28.jpg

Back to Top

Mount

This action allows you to mount a particular backup onto a new mount point. You can select a specific drive letter from the drop down list of available drive letters on the host or alternatively browse for and select an empty local NTFS folder.  When performing a mount operation, you need to specify if the volume needs to be mounted as read-only or read-write.  Selecting the 'Read Only' check box results in mounting the volume as read-only.

 

MMC29.jpg

 

Note

Use the ‘mount’ function when you want to mount a backup copy to an alternate mount point.  This is common in cases where you want to browse the backup volume to identify a specific item to restore, or in cases where you are using a restore console that allows you to choose specific items to restore in a granular manner.

 

Clicking on the Accept button will mount the backup copy of the volume onto the selected drive letter and the details will be displayed in the result pane under the mount point and mounted read only column as shown below.

 

MMC30.png

 

Mounting a backup with read-write privileges will first clone the backup so as to not compromise the integrity of the backup.  Mounting a backup with read-only privileges does not clone the backup volume.

 

Note

If you would like to disassociate a mounted backup, please remember to mount them as read-write and not read-only. That is, unselect the read-only checkbox for volumes that you would like to disassociate in future.  This is helpful in cloning a backup and then making the clone of the backup accessible to another server as a read-write volume.

Back to Top

Unmount

Allows you to unmount a backup.  This operation is required if you are trying to delete a mounted backup volume and should be performed when you are finished interacting with a mounted backup copy.

 

MMC31.png

 

Selecting the "Delete the backing volume of the mount" checkbox ensures that along with unmounting the selected volume you would also like for the backing volume of the mount to be deleted.  If you mounted the backup as ‘read-write’ and do not delete the backing volume, the backup clone will appear as a new volume in the appliance GUI, which can be reassigned to another server (or to the same server).  If you delete the backing volume, the clone will be removed to conserve space.

Clicking the Yes button will result in unmounting the selected volume.

Back to Top

Clone

Allows you to create a clone for a point-in-time backup of a volume and assign it an alias name.  The new volume will appear in the StorSimple web UI and can be mounted as an independent read-write volume on a different server.

 

MMC32.jpg  

Back to Top

Disassociate

Disassociation can only be performed on backup copies that were mounted read-write.  When you mount a backup as read-write, StorSimple creates a clone of the backup copy, which is mounted read-write, rather than directly mounting the backup copy, thus preserving the integrity of the backup.  Disassociation cannot be performed on backup copies that are mounted read-only, as the backup itself is mounted and no clone of the backup is created.

Back to Top

Related

Page statistics
2811 view(s) and 7 edit(s)
Social share
Share this page?

Tags

This page has no custom tags.
This page has no classifications.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments